To-Do Blurb for 2016

What’s the plan for this 2016? Basically to upload one blog post a day, whether it’s a poem, review, or stray rant that’s come to mind. But to post. Daily. A friend is keeping up her part of the deal, and as the previous post referred to it – we shook on it, so we’re stuck.

In this blog I’ll be sharing some of my favorite writers and stories I’ve come across along with my growth as a poet, writer, and beta-reader. That’s the hope, anyways.

Wishful Thinking

I don’t know where to begin

There’s so many things

We’ve yet to discover (about one another).

But I,

Cannot think of when

These imagined tumblings

Could form a future.

 

No room in frame.

 

Imagine your sleeping face pressed

Against languid black sheets.

 

No still-life portrait.

 

Suffices with intimate proximity and

The unreachable distance it brings.

 

(It was never something we could truly help.)

 

You won’t be there

To hold my hand –

Outside to discover

The world at a gaze.

 

Palm tightly clasped

While another seeks

An escape.

 

I want the closeness

That can’t be uncovered

With a text, a message,

Or a split-second perusal of your face.

Always I’ve wished

For your happiness.

And despite sadness I’ll learn

To savor coffee’s

Bittersweet aftertaste.

 

It may be wishful thinking,

Time and desires at hand.

Are emotions enough to supplant

What we will never have?

 

Instead, we’ll shift, move,

And click with someone else.

Author: gerbilette

Write, edit, be. Write, love, poetry.

Leave a Reply

