life is a car ride

“Nobody knows who I really am” – Rie Fu

 

 life is a car ride

I owe it to myself

Moreover, I owe it to you

Unnamed stranger who dared me to move

 

In a car ride spurred on

By tears streaking,

The bramble of leaves and dried grass peeking

Like a fall tumbleweed forest

On his head

 

It was the jolting movements

His assured persona, disgruntled

Drove me to care when

I would otherwise not pry instead

 

Between talks of dreams

The 200 m and relay

Football and college

And being leagues away

From anywhere but here

 

We could relate on that point and such

The highlight seemed

To be

Intelligence and excitement

In stolid features,

The processing and genuine

Direction he’d take to

Secure his future

 

Basically: I was impressed,

If I hadn’t been plainly saying already

But you know that moment when

Meeting another jolts you out of that

Regulated, monotonous, dreadful state in life?

 

His words:

“it’s probably too late for me to say this but

Even if something is too hard

It doesn’t matter because

You have to take every chance

And opportunity you can get”

 

And I saw the burning clarity

In his mature-young features

The weight in which his words imparted

It was quite the unusual opposite:

Wisdom from a youngling to an older figure

 

But I understood then,

How few and sparingly does life hand out its chances

For some, for others, for most

It’s not the right thing to do if –

Being afraid to push harder,

To challenge oneself

I don’t take the opportunity

And run with it

 

So I’m doing this for myself and for you

Unnamed stranger

For your words held weight

Because of (and even despite) your youth

May your dreams reach

That zenith you

So highly wish and dream

And pray for too.

02/20/16

Author: gerbilette

Write, edit, be. Write, love, poetry.

Leave a Reply

