sweet nothings

let me put my love
in something unknown
aren’t we living on such sweet nothings?

you took my warmth
and you held it in your grasp
only to crush
any connection we ever had

talk about disparities
talk of sighs
restless murmurings
and sleepless nights
but there’s a tired heart in me now
in you now
in blessed disconnections now

let me put my love
in something unknown
aren’t we living on such sweet nothings?
and it’s hard to know
and it’s hard to see
the choppy existence between
you and me

so nothing but hollow
barbs, drunkenness,
and slurred emotions
thrown around now

let me put my love
in something unknown
aren’t we living on such sweet nothings?

and it’s hard to tell
witness your emotions into air
when all I wanted was closure
for you to accept that I cared

But perhaps all we had were sweet nothings.

07/14/16

Author: gerbilette

Write, edit, be. Write, love, poetry.

Leave a Reply

