of relationships and tangled regrets.

When there wasn’t much to steal

In the first place

And the reveal of the heart

In a car ride conversation

Seems honest to goodness

An earnest outpouring of

What could be the start

Of friendship

 

But instead, we’re all a little

Discombobulated

Whether it’s attraction here

Affection there

Joking and flirtation aside

 

I’m literally, fine

Not quite with things turned out

But how he’s yours not mine

In this harried rat race

it’s our friendship first

And if anything, a genuine concern

For our long standing bud-ship

To be eclipsed

By some guy.

 

I’d say it’s whatever, but it’s not.

I just want you to be happy,

Though I said in different ways:

“I wish I never had introduced you guys”

It’s more because I’m beset

By how its affected you;

Here we are, caring with how

he takes this and how she interprets this too.

 

You’re right, it’s drama

Quite spanning more months than a few

And I’m resolved to peace

More than anything,

Tolerance, at least.

 

He’s not my choice for you.

But in the end, it’s your decision

On what you want to do.

07/02/17

Author: gerbilette

Write, edit, be. Write, love, poetry.

Leave a Reply

