we protect ourselves so readily.

we protect ourselves so readily

our walls are up this high

we had our night together

your music flooded my mind

and now we’re in strained silence

yet allowing life to pass us by

so i take your excitement, at nonchalance

and you take my hesitancy as me trying to brush you off –

i am.

 

i want you to do your thing

I want you to be fulfilled and free.

 

and though I write this on a page

which you’ll probably never see,

the reassurance it brings is that

these are the mite thoughts

that I can share,

can keep.

 

07.12.17

Author: gerbilette

Write, edit, be. Write, love, poetry.

Leave a Reply

